Posted by: dogstail | March 29, 2008

Fiat Palio Mulitjet Vs. Swift DDiS

I am a great fan of Fiat Palio. I owned one for the last 4 years before deciding to move onto something more economical like a Swift Diesel. Not that my Palio was a thirsty baby, just that it used to run on Petrol and given the way Petrol prices are I thought I should switch to Diesel.

You can read my older entry on Fiat Palio mileage HERE

I loved my Palio 1.2 ELPS extremely smooth ride and amazing handling. It took a really bad stretch of Road to perturb my baby. Most holes and ruts could not be felt at all, many were just a small sound, some were a bit of  a wobble but it took it in its stride without a jerk, jars, tail twisting or loss of direction. I could really throw it around the curves at 60 -80 kmph, without any fear, whatsoever. With curves I mean curves on Kerala roads, which are a bit more curvaceous than most.  I agree that I achieved the feat with 185 size tyres, which are a definite improvement on the stock 165.

Actually I was waiting for Fiat to launch the Grande Punto at the end of 2007, but that was getting postponed indefinitely, meanwhile I landed a good buyer for my old Palio and I decided to let her go, with some grief in my heart. I then immediately booked my next set of wheels in the form of a Swift DDiS. Immediately after my booking Fiat launched their own Multijet Palio. I thought that I should check out this vehicle before I take delivery of the Swift DDiS.

So I landed up at the Tata Fiat showroom in Cochin and the test drive vehicle was immediately available. I looked and saw this Silver Grey shape which looked similar to Palio.   Now the old Palio had a nice muscular, thickly curved bonnet, which lent it a very aggressive stance. The new vehicle’s bonnet seems to have been flattened a bit and the curves toned down, I think maybe to improve visibility. The grill looks good but looks like an afterthought rather than an organic part of the vehicle.

I opened the door and was greeted by a familiar layout complete with the Blue oval key. Only change is the Beige colour which they have tried to incorporate to lend a slightly modern look, but given the quality of plastic used looks a bit cheap actually. Cheap plastic looks better in dark Grey shapes rather than beige. If a company should use beige then the plastic should be similar to ones used in Chevy Aveo at least. Anyway……the layout is completely same as old Palio, they have not even given a digital odo/ trip meter. AC controls are same with heating and direction controlled by rotary controls.

Once I turned the key there was an earthquake and the whole Car shook once and then settled into a steady tak-tak-tak of a Diesel motor. The sound actually intrudes quite a bit into the cabin and the vibrations could be felt right through the steering wheel and the seats.

The ride quality remains as good as ever. Though the original fitment 165 tyres dont do much justice to the handling capabilities of the Palio. Under normal driving they are OK though, and the low profile of the vehicle and lower passenger seating helps bring down the centre of gravity and helps to hug the road . On Swift DDiS the 165 size tyres are positively dangerous, lacking in grip and frequently skidding under hard braking. Only when Swift is carrying four passengers it feels attached to the Road. So if you normally drive solo on bad roads, the the tyres should be upgraded to at least 185/ 70, or drive very carefully.

The Palio gear lever is the same though I feel with a smaller and cheaper gear knob. Gone are the precise gates and slick shifting. The lever is all wobbly and the gates are wide and sometimes difficult to find. Engage the first gear and release the clutch and you need not press the Acc pedal, the clutch immediately bites and the vehicle shoots of the mark. In-fact it is quite disconcerting. There is very little gap between fully disengaged and when it starts to engage, which means that the clutch needs to be fully pressed before engaging the gear and that it may be slightly difficult in bumper-to-bumper traffic where I drive only with the clutch. Also if the clutch is not released very smoothly the engine can also stall, like I managed to do once, even with a 1 lac kms plus experience on fiats. Swift on the other hand have come up with nothing I have seen on Maruti before. The gear lever is delightfully short throw, with nice smooth shifts, which click in with lovely TIK sound. The clutch also is light and has a good gap between fully depressed and when it starts engaging.

Both vehicles pickup is awesome with huge tank like roar filling the cabin as you push in the A pedal. The noise starts to get bothersome  very early in the Palio and by around 1500 rpm in Swift and may actually intrude in the driving pleasure as I love to listen to some music while tootling along.

Once you have reached a decent speed you need to brake. The Palio brakes are powerful and have an immediate bite like the clutch. I feel there should be smooth gradient in the brake force starting with a touch to some hard pressing. Old fiats had this nice gradient. With the pressure you could smoothly vary the braking force. Here the pressure comes all of sudden. A peculiar thing which I noticed was that brakes don’t disengage immediately when I released the pedal. There was just a fraction of a second delay before the wheels felt free from the iron grip. THe sales person said that it could be a problem with this vehicle only. Swift’s Brakes are also quite good and have the nice gradient which I have mentioned earlier.

AC is good and does not affect vehicle performance much in both cases, but pick-up from low rpms in high gears becomes slow, but that is hardly important as it is very rarely that I need to it. Palio says 184 Nm torque compared to Swift’s 190, but its impossible to make out the difference.

Palio also has this nice double barrel head lamps which illuminate the road nicely, though in true European fashion are highly focussed, designed not to blind the fellow coming from opposite side. But in India we have lot of ignorant and arrogant drivers who drive with high beam on. Swift’s headlights are a nice cure for such drivers. It throws a very wide diffused high beam which can blind such drivers coming from the opposite side and motivate them to dip their own lights.

Swift for all its good looks is built quite flimsily with door panels that actually stretch when the door is closed. Something or the other keeps making a nagging rattling sound. The bumps which could not even be felt in a Palio are a heard and those that could be felt,  positively make a jarring noise in the Swift. If the road is rough when you are taking a turn, you might end up loosing control of your tail, as it bounces out tangentially. Suspension is very hard and 36 psi of tyre pressure in the front does not help at all.

Swift seating is high with a lot of visibility, which helps handle this very wide vehicle. The seats are OK though not as comfortable as a Palio. The driving position is also not very good. I with 6 ft of height have to stretch for every control if I adopt a relatively comfortable driving position. Palio’s controls are within easy reach, I could comforably adjust AC controls by resting my hand on the gear shift.

Swift may probably have little advantage in Fuel economy as it rides on bigger diameter tyres and has overdrive in 4th and 5th gears, whereas Palio has it only in the 5th. Palio though may have better city driveabilty, but with almost maximum 19 Kgs of torque (same as Skoda 1.9 TDi)  both vehicles can be driven comfortably in any gear. Frankly with so much of Torque available, Palio could have done better by having Overdrive gears in 4th also. This when previous 1.2, 1.6 all had overdrives in both 4th and 5th gears.

Swift is serviced by Maruti, which has very wide network of fully equipped Dealer workshops and they have been servicing the vehicles for more than a year now, whereas in case of Fiat, all Tata dealerships have yet to get Fiat products and many still dont service them.

Multijet is a sophisticated engine and I would rather trust Maruti with the service than some Fiat trained Tata dealer workshop who is used to working on miniature truck engines.

Feature for feature Palio MJD wins hands down, with the top end SDX being almost Rs. 20000.00 cheaper than the Swift VDi. Come to think of it the Swift Ldi does not even have basic safety features like the passenger seat head restraints, Central Locking, Tachometer and prismatic rear view mirror and luxuries such as power windows and cigarette lighter, which even Palio SDE comes with.

Anyway my test drive was over and I decided to take delivery of my Swift DDiS.

First impressions of the Palio Multijet ?? It makes a lot of noise and vibrates a lot, I feel even more than the old 1.9 Palio D.  Even Swift makes similar sounds but they don’t intrude into the cabin until around 1500 rpm, which is where I do most of my driving. At least I could not feel the vibrations in Swift. Palio seems to have forgotten some of its good points, while Maruti seems to have picked up a lot..

As much as I loved my Palio 1.2 I cannot forget that once it took Fiat 2 months to arrange for a rocker arm, and all the while I had drive with a damaged Rocker arm. Its only a Palio that could have survived being driven around with a damaged Rocker arm and it could have been only Fiat, which could have left its customers in a lurch like that. I could have forgotten that had they come up with something superlative, but this is quite ordinary, even though it costs less than the comparable Swift.

So even though I am diehard fan of Fiat and my heart says Palio, my brain ruled in the favour of Maruti Swift in-spite of all the wekanesses, for the sheer peace of mind that comes with it. I will allow Fiat some time to grow and become more experienced in manufacturing, selling and servicing before spending my lakhs of Rupees with them  Maybe it will be a beautiful Linea…..or something absolutely ravishing like the Bravo. But that is in future


Responses

  1. you should write for autocar/bike os some such. wonderful review although i can only understand bits of it. makes one see the car and its possibilities.

  2. Unlike you, My TD of palio was very silent and vibrationless. Swift doesn’t have good visibility.

    Why do you think you don’t get peace of mind with a palio ?

    Here is my TD report. http://kavoor.wordpress.com/2008/03/17/fiat-palio-13-multijet-test-drive-report/

  3. @ Aditya,
    Well it means that Fiat is manufacturing widely differing vehicles. One vibrates the other does not.
    I live in a very small town called Kottayam, where we had a Fiat service centre but that is closed now and the Tata dealership here does not service Fiats. Also I am in a transferable job, where I might land up in a still smaller town.
    Moreover I have many friends and relatives in all corners of the country, who have Indicas, Sumos and other vehicles from Tata stable and none of them have a very good word to say about Tata service.

    Swift definelty has better visibility in that you can see the road as near as 2 meters away from the bumper, which is from my seating position. Fiat it starts at 4 meters. Yes rear visbility is slightly limited due to a small window.

    Anyway these things are a matter of opinion coloured by prior expereince. Hope you have good time with Fiat.

  4. @ Astralwicks,

    Thanks Astral, I am trying to refine my technique 🙂

  5. I agree. But I feel Maruti is a common man’s choice. Fiat is the choice of someone who is passionate about

    his car. Thats’s why you mentioned ” my heart says fiat ” .

    Anyways, Nice review.

  6. @ Kavoor
    Definitely. If you love your driving you should have a fiat. As I said let them improve their marketing mix and I would love to have one of their vehicles.

  7. Hi Dogstail

    Nice review there. I got to see the MJD SDX yesterday. It is a beautiful car with a beautiful engine. As you said, Fiat has to improve a lot in sales and service. We had to run from one dealer to next as even a demo MJD was not available. I’m planning to go for the SDX shortly and while in the driver’s seat will forget for a while…poor customer support, poor service and all the small drawbacks…and cherish being in between thousands of swifts

  8. i’v never read anything so simple on cars… GR8 read

  9. @ pavan
    Thanks for your compliments. Congratulations on your choice and good luck. I for one hope that Fiat improves and learns quickly.

  10. @ myexpression,
    Thanks a lot, hope it helps.

  11. Very informative and smooth narative.

    I as an owner of palio petrol have gone through the rigmarole which any fiat owner has to go through. I am planning to buy the new fiat multijet my present one gives 11 kmpl with ac on in hyderabad city. How much do you think will the multijet would drink?

  12. @ Najmuddin

    Thanks for your compliments.

    11 in Hyderabad is pretty good. New multijet should give around 18 under similar conditions. On highway I got 23 with the ddis, Multijet should also give similar figures.

  13. Great, great, great review. Me too is a diehard fan of FIAT. I own a FIAT Siena and I completely agrees with the review. I am really disappointed with the service these TATA people are offering for FIAT. Let us hope for something good in the future….

  14. @ Amal,

    Yes, hopefully fiat should not lose its character with Tatas. I wonder what kind of effect JLR takeover will have on Tata technology.

  15. Nice review. I had test driven both Palio MJD and Swift DDiS. Swift’s boost threshold (the rpm at which the turbo charger really works: wrongly called turbo lag by some) is arround 1500 rpm and is not noticible in palio. Palio’s clutch is slightly problematic as indicated. Beause of lower gear ratios/smller tyres palio runs at higher rpm for the same speed (2000 rpm at about 60kmph at 4th gear comapred to 2000 rpm at 70 kmph at 4th gear for swift). Above 2000 rpm, pickup of swift is much more. Palio’s turning radius is 5.1m compared to 4.7m of swift, which is a clear disadvantage for palio in Guwahati city driving condition where I tested. Very low speed driving (bumper to bumper) is better for Palio as the minimum speed is (perceived) lower and low speed power (below 1200 rpm) (probably) slightly better in Palio. I felt very uncomfortable sitting in Palio probably due to lower hight of driving seat and was slightly tired after driving the Palio. For this reason and for the longer turning radius I find it difficult to opt Palio MJD and shall probably decide to buy the Swift. Otherwise the lesser width of Palio (by three inch) and better build quiality, uniform pickup over the whole usable range of rpm, more features and lesser price makes Palio MJD attractive. because of gear ratio and wheel size difference, Palio may consume a bit more fuel but should not be significant.

  16. @ Pinku
    You observations are to the point and accurate. Best wishes with your swift. I have completed 5000 kms in my swift and will shortly be writing an ownership report for my vehicle.

  17. Nice review. Test drive report of the Palio at http://thecarsandmore.blogspot.com/2008/05/fiat-palio-multijet-test-drive.html

  18. Hi Dogstail,

    That’s a nice review, but I would disagree to some points from your test drive of the MJD. You are not wrong, but the conditions can mislead.

    I test-drove two MJDs in the same day. I found the first one noisy in the cabin, vibrated quite a bit, and the clutch and gears were difficult to handle (I stalled more than once).

    The other MJD was smooth as silk (considering it’s a diesel). The noise outside was much less; inside there was hardly any at all. The vibrations were there only if the gear was incorrect for the speed. I could shift the gears effortlessly and it was more tolerant to which gear I was on.

    The difference could be because of the running in of the two. The first one was almost brand new, while the other seemed to have been driven a fair amount. This could be a reason why you felt the Swift to be less noisy and the gears smoother. The breaks could also feel different in a well run in car. We can expect the Swift demo car to have been driven more, can’t we. 🙂

  19. @Dobriyal,
    Yes very true. But my observations were based on both old and new swifts, one owned by my friend and the other showroom test car. Anyway Swift is definitely not the gold standard when it comes to some of the aspects, but its a good overall package.
    Thanks for visiting the site and happy motoring.

  20. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Superintendence

  21. @Suprintendence,

    Thanks a lot mate, but unless you are into cars and familira with the Indian scene then its is possible to get lost.

  22. […] Ownership Report on Maruti Swift Diesel Its been some time since I have been active on the site, given my extremely lazy and laidback attitude to life and everything else.  Some time back I wrote a piece on comparison between Fiat Palio mjd and Maruti Swift Ldi/ Vdi, which has been very popular. After the analysis I then went and purchased a Maruti Swift Ldi in late Mar, 2008 based on the reasons that you can read here. […]

  23. Hi,
    I have been researching on Diesel vehicle for some time now….Of course my options were only 3 for my passion and ‘budget’. Either a swift diesel, Palio MJD or used Palio/Petra 1.9D. I testdrove all the three and my comments are inline with what your review says…. I felt the swift as a better option among the MJD’s just for the dealer/service responsiveness and responsibility and slightly for the mileage. But the build quality and driver seat/comfort/handling is far beyond comparison for Palio MJD. It rocks!!!!
    Now with all these and having testdrove Old Palio/petra D. I felt the Stile is given a stepmother treatment to earlier Older Palio. The refinement in Palio/Petra is not in Stile. The beige interiors is sluggish and looks awful. The black/grey was better. Also i feel the quality has been compromised. I somehow feel the earlier model has a better and smooth gear shift. I just didnt feel like “shifting” gears in 2006 Petra i drove. Again the musculine look is slightly lost with newer one. I hope the build quality remains the same. I somehow felt, the hefty and strong bonnet/hood cover which Old Palio had has slightly come down. DOnt know whether its my personal feel.
    I somehow now feel investing 2.5 to get a lowrun Palio 1.9D would be a better option than going for a MJD. Atleast for my priorities. I could also find a Decent mechanic in Bangalore(green tracks), who has been maintaining Fiat cars prety decently.

    I had actually started writing response to thank you for your reviews. I look forward to more such useful reviews/discussion threads at your blog.

  24. @Jith,

    Thanks for visting and leaving a comment. It will be difficult to find a good used palio 1.9 D. Spare parts also may be a problem as they have stopped manufacturing the motor sometime back. Anyway if you do get a good bargain then go for it.

    Best Wishes

  25. Very well written review; in fact, one of the best I have read. You have written it in a very objective manner, and without appearing to be a know-it-all 🙂 I own a Palio 1.6 Sports (Swift was the other car that I had considered, but listened to my heart instead of my head) and was thinking of a MJD some days ago – but after doing a little math, found that for my monthly running (approx 600 – 700 kms per month), it wasn’t worth seeling my 1.6 and then buying the MJD.

    Cheers!

  26. @Vikram.

    Congrats on your purchase. I would have loved to have a 1.6 but the fact that I do almost 1500 Kms a month, pushed me towards a Diesel Vehicle and then Swift.

    1.6 is a dream. Hope you enjoy the 100 horses packed inside that little hatch.

  27. My name is Mohammed.

    I recently booked Swift… i wanted to buy Palio Multijet but due service problem changed my mind to Swift. I had been to driving class in Swift but still my Heart loves Palio.

    Just a message to FIAT.. Get your marketing & servicing center expanded.. You will see more FIAT’S on Road.
    Love you Palio but you forced me to say bye.. I want you to remember that every body spends hard earn money.. & you need to learn how to give the best for this hard earn money.

  28. really good review i have palio 1.3 from last 5 yrs i am facing some heating problem (engine heating) fan starts very frequently can u tell me what must be the reason

  29. Reasons can be varied.
    1. Problematic thermostat.
    2. Blockage in coolant flow
    3. Low coolant levels.

    Fiat fan otherwise does start rather frequently, especially if AC is working. Have it checked

  30. Excellent review… Im buying a hatch too, for my parents in India and trying to convince them to go for the palio MJD SDX 🙂 while they are strongly in favour of Swift Vdi. Lets see… hopefully they will go for the palio.

  31. Very nice review. Thanks for it. I am also confused between palio and swift but having a strong urge to go for fiat. I allready drives my brother’s palio 1.1 petrol and somewhat aware of all the problems which I am going to face in palio. At least fiat could have done someting with interiors, which could have got them an edge.

  32. hi all, i own a Fiat Palio 1.2 Sports. it gives me an average of 13. can anyone suggest me how to decrease the vibration and improve the pick up?

  33. […] Fiat Palio Mulitjet Vs. Swift DDiS March 200832 comments 3 […]

  34. Great post…pls continue writing !!!


Leave a comment

Categories