Posted by: dogstail | November 14, 2007

Whirlpool Refrigerator

I was on a lookout for a new refrigerator as my old one was proving to be too small. So we decided to purchase a bigger model and promptly decided to make use of Onam season discount sales that we have here in Kerala.

Since Whirlpool is a highly advertsied brand  and we liked the looks and the price so we brought it home.

It was working very nicely for a week then suddenly one day the door hinge broke. I mean the DOOR HINGE, not anything even remotely high tech such as a compressor or the condensor. I would have felt better had some technology gone phut on me. No here was a measly door hinge.

Anyway I promptly called up the service franchisee here in Kottayam and they promptly sent a person to check up who promptly informed me that the spare hinge is not available and it will take 20 days to recieve it. I blew my top but since I am inept in Malayalam abuses I could not convey my true feelings. In present age of overnight couriers it is funny that a spare part should take 20 days to come from anywhere.

I decided to send a feedback directly to Whirlpool India and called up their Gurgaon numbers mentioned on the warranty card. I got sick of calling but I could not even manage to get an operator. I went high-tech and opened their website and lo and behold, they had a consumer feedback and complaints form, which I filled up and submitted with a lot of anxiety. As was expected I did not recieve any reply and am still waiting.

Anyway I was now totally on edge and decided to take up the matters locally and called up the service franchisee and poured all the venom I could manage in English and Hindi. He understood that if nothing is done he will face a court case and will get beaten up.

Next day the service fellow sent the spare, but which he did not fix properly, so that cool air was leaking between door and body. Again after some bouts of shouting, the fellow came again and refixed it, this time correctly.

So after suffering 4 days with a broken Refrigerator, I had my peace of mind.

Not attending to complaints and giving all sorts of excuses may be an indian trait, where consumer rights movement is not very active. But an american multi-national ignoring such a thing is a bit too much. They would have had to probably pay compensation to the customer for causing injury in US or Europe. I should have filed the case but I decided to save my 500 Rs. and some court time, the lazy bum that I am.

Probably they spend so much money on advertisements, branding  and salaries of their fat executives that nothing is left after that to do customer service.

Conclusion : Do not buy a whirlpool Refrigerator. At least if you are in India.

You can also read the second part of the experience here

UpDate : Inbetween the same door hinge broke again. And on 23.08.2008 the same door hinge broke again for a third time.


Responses

  1. Dear Customer,

    Could you please let me know your name and telephone number so that we can arrange to address your complaint asap. Thanks!

    Regards,

    Venkatesh
    Head-Consumer Care

  2. Dear Mr. Vekatesh,
    Thanks for your “Quick” response. As head of customer care you are atleast expected to read the column fully. The complaint has since been rectified by your able service franchisee. Nevertheless thanks agian.

  3. I bought a 41 Deluxe Refrigerator on July 31, 2008. It has been 12 days now and the damn thing does not work. The engineers have been visiting every other day. They are just bullshitters and have not been able to diagnose the problem in 12 days. They sold me a Rs. 2200 stabilizer -which was not required per the dealer. The customer service sucks and the dealer does not have the balls to come on the phone nor wants to replace the refrigerator. 28000 Rupees have gone down the drain. Moral of the story – “NEVER EVER BUY A WHIRLPOOL PRODUCT”. Now I am working on a blog against Whirlpool.
    Navneet Syal
    011-47085910

  4. @ Navneet Syal

    Good these guys deserve a kick on their cozy behinds.

  5. We purchased a refrigirator 280 liter master mind from NEXT vide their invoice no.586 dated 25/11/07. After 2 month we had started giving our complants (water tray always flow, it doesn’t get dry) your executive visited three or four times but problem is still the same.
    So you please look in to the matter at your end and sort out the problem.
    I am waiting your favourable action.

    Thanks & Regards

    M S Rawat

  6. Hi! Read your experience with Whirlpool. Going thru a severe problem regarding a whirlpool split ac and really need to get the contact information of the head Customer care for Delhi. Have had a similar experience at the Gurgaon contact numbers and my frustration is reaching boiling point. Would really appreciate if you could help me with the coontact information in case u have access to it. Regards Shalini Mittal

    • @ Shalini,

      The information is available on their website under the link, “Contact us”. I have copied the same for your benefit here.

      M/s Whirpool of India Ltd. Whirpool House Plot No. 40, Sector 44, Gurgaon – 122002 Haryana Tel.: PH – 91-124-4591300 Fax – 91-124-4591301

      You can also go the following link http://www.whirlpoolindia.com/servicecenter.aspx and key in your region and city and you will get the telephone number of the local service franchise.

      Best wishes for getting your problem solved quickly.


Leave a comment

Categories